PDA

View Full Version : El Baton - Rank beginner review #1

strider
12-17-2009, 09:44 PM
Well, as the title indicates I am a rank beginner in the world of cigars. I'll start this review off with a bit of a expo on that. I've had a few (2-4) cigars up till this month when I caught the real bug. This month I've caught the bug bad and finally starting to learn what I'm doing:) Sorta:) I started out with a Red Dot Cohiba I picked up at cumbies. Was actually pretty good the first few pulls even though I was torching the thing up like a cigarette. Strong sweet notes. However... not to far into it it became very harsh. Yup I was pulling on it constantly. Subsequently I've done some reading and learned how to properly appreciate a stick.

Anyways, I started writing up my experiences with my smokes a few days ago just for the fun/education of it. Upon finding this site I decided, what the hell, I may as well post them. Take these for what they are. Experiences of someone new trying to refine his palette and put words to flavors. It's more for me then anyone but I hope it might at least at times provide a chuckle:) Any comments are welcome.

(No photos btw). Right now just after the fact tasting notes. Not ready to interrupt my enjoyment with fiddling with a camera yet:)

So.... on with it.
The El Baton (Recommended to me by a smoke shop owner as a lower priced nice full body smoke) [ Just gonna cut and paste my little notepad notes].

El Baton "Robusto"

Time 2pm
Drink: Starbucks Christmas blend