PDA

View Full Version : Traveling with cigars, need help!

druturn
12-17-2009, 02:05 AM
Hey guys, so I am currently a college student from Texas and am taking a semester abroad to Germany starting in January. My questions are regarding traveling with cigars. I plan on bringing a 15 cigar travel humidor, I currently have a 5 cigar herf-a-dor that works fine, but I plan on smoking much more than that next semester. Sure, I could just buy cigars from a B&M store while there, but why do that while I have a humidor full of stogies? I am looking at two humidors, http://stores.cigarsolutions.com/-strse-69/Cigar-Caddy-15-dsh-cigar-travel/Detail.bok and http://stores.cigarsolutions.com/-strse-40/Cigar-Solutions-15-Cigar/Detail.bok Which do you guys think is better? What entices me about the more expensive model is the pressure release valve for plane travel, does anyone have any experience with traveling with these on planes? Does anyone have a preference for either one, or a completely different humidor that I didn't mention? Also, does anyone have any advice on traveling in general with cigars(I don't plan on bringing any Cubans, so no need to worry)? Forgot to ask this as well but how long will cigars last in a travel humidor, as long conditions stay correct? Sorry for the millions of questions, thanks in advance!

14holestogie
12-17-2009, 02:28 AM
Personally, unless you're going to open this on the plane, the pressure relief valve is overkill. Many own the cheaper model and are happy with it, me included. :2

Don Fernando
12-17-2009, 03:43 AM
where in Germany will you be? There is an Amsterdam herf in march, if it's not to far of a drive, we're happy to have you! A spot to sleep can be arranged.

BigCat
12-17-2009, 05:16 AM
I wouldn't worry about the pressure release valve either. I have the 15 ct. herfador and while it can take a little effort to open after a flight, it's nothing major.

kydsid
12-17-2009, 05:48 AM