PDA

View Full Version : Opinion on great beers

Poronico
09-29-2009, 02:04 PM
I am new to the game of enjoying great beer, I am a huge fan of Dark beers and the abbey ales. Personally I have yet to find a smoked porter I didnt enjoy, also love a good stout. The last brew I enjoyed was a Treppist Abbey Ale and it was amazing! So I want your insight on what my next purchase should be or what you think I shouldn't miss out on down my adventurous road. :D

icehog3
09-29-2009, 02:09 PM
Being in the Northwest I assume you've tried Anchor Steam Porter, Jesse?

Jbailey
09-29-2009, 02:11 PM
I would try a bunch of different Porters and Imperials. Not to familiar with beers in your area but I will keep my eyes out.

Red
09-29-2009, 02:12 PM
have you tried any IPA's yet ?

Riff Raff
09-29-2009, 02:14 PM
I am thinking in the sense of Octoberfest beers! After all, offically, it has started! There are some great ones out there.

icehog3
09-29-2009, 02:17 PM
Another one I have enjoyed this summer is Black Boss Porter, out of Poland...unfortunately, I can't find any around here any more.

dubnick
09-29-2009, 02:28 PM
Left Hand Black Jack Porter

D_A
09-29-2009, 02:37 PM
When I was living in WA, I used to drink lots of Black Butte Porter from Deschutes Brewery (http://www.deschutesbrewery.com/) in Bend, Or. Rogue's (http://www.rogue.com/) Shakespeare Stout and Mocha Porter are pretty good too. They are also out of Oregon. New Belgium Brewery (http://www.newbelgium.com/home) in Colorado makes a good abbey ale as I recall and is available in your area. If you're in Seattle, the brewery at Pikes Place (http://www.pikebrewing.com/) has some good dark beers too.

Poronico
09-29-2009, 03:43 PM
Being in the Northwest I assume you've tried Anchor Steam Porter, Jesse?

Not yet, But I have had the Kona Porter and the Black Butte and both were phenomenal!

Poronico
09-29-2009, 03:45 PM
have you tried any IPA's yet ?