PDA

View Full Version : Oliva MB1

heavyd
08-15-2009, 04:19 PM
After searching for months, I finally secured a fiver of these on c-bid for $80. They have been in the mini for a few months at 65. I have smoked 2 of the five. The first one was good, I think... I was drinking heavily that night and don't remember the finer points :D. This one, the second, was sublime. This was, by far, the best Oliva I've had thus far.

When I removed the cello I could smell the tobacco before I even brought the cigar to my nose. Very rich, strong tobacco scent, mostly fresh produce aroma. The burn was fantastic throughout. I may have smoked this beauty a bit fast, but it never got hot. The smoothness of this Nic puro was something to behold. The flavors I could detect were leather, coffee, and nuts at different points. I'm a 18 month newbie, and I can't always describe complex flavors, but wow!

As you can see from the photos, the cigar began to disintegrate at about the halfway point. I smoke outdoors in the desert East of San Diego and humidity is 10% right now. Despite the dry environment and subsequent meltdown, this thing smoked perfectly to the very end. The photos are kinda scary, but man o man, if all my NC's tasted this good I would gladly take the ugly wrapper every time.

I have three of these left and if someone wants to try one, I'm game for a trade. This is my first review and I hope you enjoyed it :)

Dave

okieRob
08-15-2009, 04:36 PM
Thanks for the review. I'm a big "V" fan. I'm going to keep my eye out for some of these.

- Rob

SkinsFanLarry
08-21-2009, 03:09 AM
All things considered, that cigar originally came out in 2003, and I agree with you, it is a great smoke. To me it definately proves what age will do to a cigar, from a damn good smoke into an excellant smoke!

I have always considered it one of my "Crown Jewels" of cigars. I currently have two robusto's and two torpedo's.

DougBushBC
08-21-2009, 06:15 AM