PDA

View Full Version : Can civilians in the military use USAA.com

BUCASmoker
06-18-2009, 02:38 PM
I am a civilian in the navy, can I get cheap car insurance?

chippewastud79
06-18-2009, 03:02 PM
You should be able to. If you have any member of your family who is active or retired military you should be able to enroll in their programs. They have a lot of nice options for everything from banking to insurance. :tu

BUCASmoker
06-18-2009, 03:19 PM
No one in my family is military though. I work as a civilian engineer for a navy support lab (technically part of the US Navy).

WildBlueSooner
06-18-2009, 03:35 PM
I could be wrong but I believe USAA is only for:
* Active-duty officers and enlisted personnel.
* Children whose eligible parents have or had a USAA auto or property insurance product.1
* National Guard and Selected Reserve officers and enlisted personnel.
* Officer candidates in commissioning programs (Academy, ROTC, OCS/OTS).
* Former military personnel:
o Retired officers and enlisted personnel.
o Former officers and enlisted personnel who separated from the military on or after Jan. 1, 1996.
* Former USAA members who had USAA auto or property insurance.

BUCASmoker
06-18-2009, 03:48 PM
Looks like I'm SOL.

chippewastud79
06-18-2009, 09:37 PM
Looks like I'm SOL.

I misunderstood your involvement, but it would never hurt to call and find out :2

RGD.
06-19-2009, 05:23 AM
I am a civilian in the navy, can I get cheap car insurance?

I have been with USAA since 1978 (car, home, banking, etc). You don't qualify - but don't loose any sleep over it - USAA is not "cheap" as most people would believe. The rates are good, better than most - but if you shop around you can find lower costs.

Ron

DougBushBC
06-19-2009, 06:16 AM
I know the benefits extend pretty far, my cousin is the grand daughter of a retired officer, with no other military connection, and she has USAA

RGD.
06-19-2009, 10:10 AM